Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Monday, January 30, 2012

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Bike Shop

In the middle of the canyon, six steep windy miles from either the coast or the valley, we have Topanga Creek Bicycles.  

Saturday, January 28, 2012

The Bay

View of the Santa Monica Bay from Corral Canyon.  The smog layer stretches out all the way past the Palos Verdes Peninsula.

Friday, January 27, 2012

Del's dash

First in a series on Topanga Trucks, and the guys that drive them.  Here is a closeup of Del's ancient Nissan.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Caveman

Hanging out on the edge, where the shadow meets the light.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Another Cave

View from one of my favorite spots off Santa Maria Road.  This is in steep terrain, where a Chumash Indian settlement used to be.  

Monday, January 23, 2012

Frost

We have chilly mornings.  Just after sunrise there's a bit of frost on the ground.

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Deer

We have mule deer.  They're flighty and shy, with huge swiveling ears and bright white cotton tails. 



Saturday, January 21, 2012

Buddha

Another roadside attraction.  This Buddha is decorated with sea shells.  Someone cut a corner and drove over the tin tea pot, however the little succulent lives to tell the tale.

Friday, January 20, 2012

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Topanga Beach

Another marine layer morning, looking down on Pacific Coast Highway at Topanga Beach.  

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Mitt vs. Newt

We have presidential debates.  Here with Mitt Romney, Newt Gingrich and the one and only, incredibly funny, creative genius of Noel Rhodes.  Seen at Unusual Tuesdays / Hillybillyhip.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Ivy

Here is the ivy covered stained glass window, of the "church room" at the Inn of the Seventh Ray.  Topanga used to have various churches, and gas stations, this was one of them. 

Monday, January 16, 2012

Going In

Seen on Old Church Rd.  No comment necessary, other than - "Thanks Carmen!".

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Malibu Pier

It's a quiet, gloomy day at the Malibu Pier.  Actually, the sign is lying, as everything is closed, except for the souvenir & fishing bait shop.

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Hot Rods

We have hot rods.  These were sitting in front of the Malibu Inn just the other day.  

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Mushrooms

Even though the winter has been mostly dry and warm, we do have mushrooms. These odd looking, black on top and white below items are called Fluted Black Elfin Saddles.  Delicious!  Much appreciation to Jim Robertson.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Iron Gate

We have passionate welders.  Here is a sunny gate made by Dennis King, from recycled materials.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Tobacco Flower

Because of the sunny, dry weather we have lots of flowers already.  Here's the fragrant loveliness of Virginia Tobacco.


Sunday, January 8, 2012

Saturday, January 7, 2012

Red Handed 2

Shot through the mirror during the Holiday Hoedown at Red Handed.

Friday, January 6, 2012

More Deco

Here we have more home decorations: Venus, a Buddha fountain, the Moon kissing the Sun, and misc. signs of the times.  Seen at Oasis Imports.

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Happy / Sad Faces

Janus, the Roman God the month of January was named after, was known for his two faces.  Here they are, separated, along with other decorations, on the wall of Oasis Imports.  

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Yoni Cave

We have natural wonders. How about this shameless, bare all yoni looking cave? 

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Monday, January 2, 2012

Caves

We have caves that used to house the local natives.  Most of them are at high altitude, but these ones have easy access at Red Rock Park.

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Calabasas Peak

Happy New Year to one and all.  Wishing you much love, wide horizons, perspective, and plenty of peak experiences.

CityDailyPhoto Themeday: Picture of the Year:

Click here to view thumbnails for all participants